Becky Chambers’ Wayfarers Trilogy – Book Reviews

The Wayfarers trilogy are a series of standalone books set in the one imagined universe and I love each of them with all of my heart!!!

Book 1: The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet

Blurb from Goodreads

Follow a motley crew on an exciting journey through space—and one adventurous young explorer who discovers the meaning of family in the far reaches of the universe—in this light-hearted debut space opera from a rising sci-fi star.

Rosemary Harper doesn’t expect much when she joins the crew of the aging Wayfarer. While the patched-up ship has seen better days, it offers her a bed, a chance to explore the far-off corners of the galaxy, and most importantly, some distance from her past. An introspective young woman who learned early to keep to herself, she’s never met anyone remotely like the ship’s diverse crew, including Sissix, the exotic reptilian pilot, chatty engineers Kizzy and Jenks who keep the ship running, and Ashby, their noble captain.

Life aboard the Wayfarer is chaotic and crazy—exactly what Rosemary wants. It’s also about to get extremely dangerous when the crew is offered the job of a lifetime. Tunnelling wormholes through space to a distant planet is definitely lucrative and will keep them comfortable for years. But risking her life wasn’t part of the plan. In the far reaches of deep space, the tiny Wayfarer crew will confront a host of unexpected mishaps and thrilling adventures that force them to depend on each other. To survive, Rosemary’s got to learn how to rely on this assortment of oddballs—an experience that teaches her about love and trust, and that having a family isn’t necessarily the worst thing in the universe.

My Review

What a joyous surprise this book has proved to be!

I picked it up in my local library on a random browse; I had not heard of it nor of the author but I am thoroughly delighted with my find.

It was the most wonderful character-led science fiction book.

Definitely a book all about the journey rather than the destination so perhaps if you are looking for thrills and spills it might not be for you. But if you are looking for a book about a ragtag bunch of misfit aliens and humans aboard a starship, that somehow weaves a story exploring what it truly means to be human then this book is for you.

‘The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet’ is everything good about the original Star Trek TV series in how it explores the ideas of family and camaraderie, prejudices and tolerance, and just trumpets how much better things are when we can celebrate our differences and still see that what connects us all is the desire for a place to feel safe and for people to accept us for who we are inside.

A wonderful piece of speculative science fiction writing with tremendous heart
four stars

Book 2: A Closed and Common Orbit

Blurb from Goodreads

Lovelace was once merely a ship’s artificial intelligence. When she wakes up in an new body, following a total system shut-down and reboot, she has no memory of what came before. As Lovelace learns to negotiate the universe and discover who she is, she makes friends with Pepper, an excitable engineer, who’s determined to help her learn and grow.

Together, Pepper and Lovey will discover that no matter how vast space is, two people can fill it together.

The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet introduced readers to the incredible world of Rosemary Harper, a young woman with a restless soul and secrets to keep. When she joined the crew of the Wayfarer, an intergalactic ship, she got more than she bargained for – and learned to live with, and love, her rag-tag collection of crewmates.

A Closed and Common Orbit is the stand-alone sequel to Becky Chambers’ beloved debut novel The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet and is perfect for fans of Firefly, Joss Whedon, Mass Effect and Star Wars.

My Review

I blimmin love this series. This book is another delight. I don’t feel much like writing a detailed review except to say this is just wonderfully cosy SciFi.

It truly explores the value we place on those who are poor or different in some way and is a perfect character study of two disparate characters who come together and create their own version of family… this book is basically about finding a small place to call your home.

I adored this book and it is unsurprising that I immediately started book three when I finished this… But not before I could award it another four stars.

Book 3: Record of a Spaceborn Few

Blurb from Goodreads

From the ground, we stand. From our ship, we live. By the stars, we hope

The incredible new novel by Becky Chambers, author of the beloved The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet.

Centuries after the last humans left Earth, the Exodus Fleet is a living relic, a place many are from but few outsiders have seen. Humanity has finally been accepted into the galactic community, but while this has opened doors for many, those who have not yet left for alien cities fear that their carefully cultivated way of life is under threat.

Tessa chose to stay home when her brother Ashby left for the stars, but has to question that decision when her position in the Fleet is threatened.

Kip, a reluctant young apprentice, itches for change but doesn’t know where to find it.

Sawyer, a lost and lonely newcomer, is just looking for a place to belong.

When a disaster rocks this already fragile community, those Exodans who still call the Fleet their home can no longer avoid the inescapable question:

What is the purpose of a ship that has reached its destination?

My Review

‘By the stars, we hope’

This whole series is simply magnificent and this book is a fitting finale to a marvellous trilogy of essentially what are standalone novels. There are no madcap space adventures, no space battles with hostile aliens… None of what one normally thinks about when thinking of space set fiction but what there is is an innate sense of humanity. These books though set in some far flung future amidst the stars are more authentic and true to what it is we are as a society than any contemporary could hope to be.
This is the future I aspire to.

I highly recommend this series of books to anyone who is interested in character studies akin to human interest stories. This is science fiction for everyone.

Another four stars

In summation, I really can’t recommend this series highly. At the time I read each book I awarded each four stars… But when I think back on my reading experience with each novel and how they made me feel, I have come to the conclusion that this is a five star series! If you love speculative sci fi and would like to feel good about humanity’s future then definitely pick up this series.

25 thoughts on “Becky Chambers’ Wayfarers Trilogy – Book Reviews

    1. These books really made me smile too Amanda!!! These are the UK covers though… I hate to say that the American ones are just not as aesthetically pleasing… BUT IT IS ALL ABOUT CONTENT AND WRITING AND OMG THE WRITING!!!!!!!! I just love Becky Chambers so much!!! <3333333333

      Like

  1. I went on a book shopping spree the other day and bought this series and her newest novella as well! I am probably jumping the gun buying the whole series+ but I have a feeling that I’m going to love it. Fab reviews, Emer! This only makes me even more excited to read these books now 😍

    Liked by 1 person

    1. YASSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS

      OMG Dini!!! I can’t wait for you to read these books. Becky Chambers is my queen. I utterly adore her writing. It is so beautiful. So heart warming. So moving…. AHHH I AM EXCITED FOR YOU TO READ HER BOOKS!!!!!!!!!!! <333333333333

      Like

  2. WAIT WHAT?!? Its a science fiction?!? 😱😱😱😱😱😱😱 I couldn’t have guessed! I have seen this cover before!!! AND ITS BEEN ON MY TBR FOREVERRRR!!!! Ahhhhhhh!!! AND YOUR REVIEWWW HAS MAD WME EVEN MORE EXCITED ABOUT READING ITT!!! 😍😍😍❤️❤️❤️❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    1. OMG RAIN FORGET EVERY OTHER REC OF MINE AND READ THESE INSTEAD!!!!!!!!! Becky Chambers is my queen. I love her. Her writing is pure, it’s warming. it’s inclusive it’s diverse… and her characters…. OMG SHE WRITES THE BEST CHARACTERS EVERRRRRRRRRRRRRRR!!!!! <33333

      Liked by 1 person

  3. This is the most beautiful, heart warming series I’ve read in a long time. They just make me feel hopeful for the future and that just maybe we can sort out our present as well. I hope for more stories in this universe, even if it’s a collection of short stories. This series makes you feel like you’ve found home. I’m so pleased you loved them too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I could not agree more with you!!! All of Becky Chambers’ writing gives me great hope and comfort. She is absolutely magical I think. 100% an auto buy author for me. I just love how diverse and inclusive her writing is and how her characters always feel so real. Thanks so much for your lovely comment. Always brilliant to chat to another Becky fan :)))) <333

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s