The Lonely Fajita by Abigail Mann – eARC Book Review

Blurb from Goodreads

Lonely Fajita: a person who is suddenly and unwillingly single.

It’s Elissa’s birthday, but her boyfriend doesn’t seem to care much – and she’s accidentally scheduled herself a cervical smear instead of birthday drinks.

Then there’s her borderline-psychotic boss, the fact she’s not making but losing money at her internship, and her sinking feeling she might not really be in love.

At least you can’t be lonely if you’re not alone. Right?

But Elissa’s just-good-enough existence is about to change, with single life, redundancy and homelessness all on the horizon. Signing up to live with an elderly person in return for free bed and board suddenly looks like her best option.

Elissa has no idea that Annie will turn out to be a woman of secrets and swearwords, and that living with her is about to shake up everything Elissa thought her twenties should be…

Hilarious, moving and painfully real – the perfect book for fans of Mhairi McFarlane and Sophie Ranald

Shortlisted for a 2019 Comedy Women in Print Prize

My Review

This book was an utter delight!

I was so tired, felt so exhausted and drained of any sort of pep… and I needed something light and airy to raise my spirits and luckily I had just received this ARC so I settled in for what I hoped would be a light and frivolous sort of read.

And I got exactly that. It was hugely entertaining and chuckle inducing. Honestly I laughed out loud so many times! But also this book had heart. It had characters that I actually cared about.

The book follows the story of Elissa stuck in a dead end internship complete with a creepy boss and a boyfriend who doesn’t make her feel like she thinks she should feel.

When she finds herself about to be made homeless due to the breakdown of her relationship she answers an ad to become a live-in companion in an elderly community.

Enter widow Annie.

And together these two disparate characters find their common ground and each go on a great journey of personal discovery triggered by the other one.

This book was truly a surprise. I didn’t expect to love it as much as I did. Nor did I expect the humour to be so brilliant! The writing was incredibly witty; the jokes and general hilarity of the situations MC Elissa finds herself in are really what makes this book stand out among so many light women’s fiction books. And the fact that friendship is to the fore of this book rather than romance truly makes for a refreshing change.

Both main characters were incredibly likeable and were relatable too. And what was really great is that Elissa especially never did anything super annoying that would make your eyes roll. Her actions all felt authentic to the plot and were never written merely to create drama. Big thumbs up for that as so frequently in books of this ilk the main character always makes frustrating decisions on her way to the happy ever after ending.

Recommended for when you need a book to pick you up and make you feel better about life.

*An e-copy of this book was kindly provided to me by the publisher, One More Chapter, via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review*

Expected publication: May 14th 2020

For more reviews and book related chat check out my blog

Follow me on Twitter

Friend me on Goodreads

12 thoughts on “The Lonely Fajita by Abigail Mann – eARC Book Review

  1. I was sold on the title alone but reading the synopsis and reading your review has given me all the warm fuzzy feels for this book! Now I can’t wait to read it because it truly sounds amazing and just so so feel good? 😍 I gotta admit I’m a total sucker for books like this LOL I will definitely be keeping this on my radar! Great review, Emer! 💞

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The title is what made me hit that netgalley request button. And I am so pleased I did. The book is a little rough around the edges at the beginning (I have a feeling the very first chapter might get tidied up a little before publication) but other than that the book is great. And it’s a great example of women supporting women at all ages and I am so here for that :))))

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s