September 2020 Wrap Up

Overview of September’s Reading

Errrrrrr I know…. I’m a little bit late with my wrap up of what I read in September!!!

Photo by Marius Mann on Pexels.com

Health-wise September was terrible. I was very sick, I barely replied to blog comments and did next to no blog hopping. It took aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaall of my energy to draft posts at all.

I did however manage to read some books…. all of them were review copies though!!! I am never letting myself request so many ARCs from NetGalley in a year as I have this year.

I’ve begun to feel bitter about my ARCs and the dates by which I have to read each one… and that’s not good. Because that means that each ARC book I read is at an immediate disadvantage as my mood is somewhat soured. I’m trying my best to be unbiased but I’m sure there’s a war between the despondency I feel as I look at my pretty bookshelves filled with unread books versus the resentment I feel as I look through my kindle filled with unread ARCs.

To put it in perspective as of the end of September I have read ninety-six books this year.

Of that ninety-six book total sixty-two have been review copies!

That’s 65% of the total number of book’s I’ve read.

And that percentage is going to go higher as I have read more ARCs already in October and no doubt will read more again by 31st December because I have a bunch of ARCs that are publishing early 2021.

Ninety-six books read by this stage of the year is quite a conservative number for me compared with the last few years… and yes I’ve been very sick this year so that has greatly impacted my reading speed. But I have felt quite “slumpy” since the end of April and April was the last month where the majority of books read were ones I either owned or borrowed from the library… so I think there’s a lesson in that. So the moral of the story is I need to limit myself to perhaps only a quarter of my annual reads being ARCs.

  • Average rating for the year to date: 3.5
  • Pages read for the year to date: 34,592 across 96 books
Photo by Thought Catalog on Pexels.com

The Titles I Read in September

Click on the title to be taken to my review of the book.

  1. Crave by Tracy Wolff: FIVE STAR BRILLIANCE!!!
  2. Home Stretch by Graham Norton: MORE FIVE STAR BRILLIANCE!!!
  3. The Winter Garden by Heidi Swain: Forgettable two star read.
  4. The First Woman by Jennifer Nansubuga Makumbi: Difficult to read emotionally and at times a little prosaic but a very compelling three and a half star read.
  5. Pandora’s Jar by Natalie Haynes: Fantastic exploration into the portrayal of women in retellings of Greek Mythology.
  6. PrettyCityDublin by Siobhan Ferguson: Gorgeous looking book about Dublin filled with stunning photos and suggestions of where to visit in Ireland’s capital city.
  7. Magic Lessons by Alice Hoffman: A prequel to Practical Magic that is absolutely brilliantly written. Great saga style feel.
  8. The Miracle on Ebenezer Street by Catherine Doyle: Gorgeous Christmassy middle grade read.
  9. We All Die in the End by Elizabeth Merry: Dark, subversive read looking at life in a small town. Perfect for fans of Donal Ryan’s The Spinning Heart.
  10. Quilaq by Rebecca Burns: Slow moving novella that took its time to reveal its true meaning.

So ten books in all for the month!

Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

That’s it for another monthly wrap up!

How many books did you get through in September?

Let’s chat in the comments below!

11 thoughts on “September 2020 Wrap Up

  1. I’m so sorry you’re still not feeling your best. I hope that changes soon! Your year with so many ARCs sounds like my year last year. I tried to really restrict my requests this year. I did great until about May. And then I’ve done better the past few months. Last year I had to finally go through my Netgalley books and mark a few as ‘unable to read’. It was too demanding and I lost interest with a few. But I hated doing it. 😬😃

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Candles lighting on my desk here, Emer, and sending you positive thoughts. You are right to lessen your reading list. Sometimes it can be daunting, even when you’re in the full of your health. So take it easy friend.

    Like

  3. Oh I can’t wait to read crave, I bought it for my kindle this month! I’m glad you loved it so much. Sorry September has been tough health-wise, I will be sending good thoughts you way and I hope you are feeling better in October! 💛

    Like

  4. Wow, that’s quite an impressive list! I can’t believe you’ve already read 96 books this year 🎉 I’m really sorry September was such a bad month health-wise, though. I hope October is looking much better! 💙💜❤

    Like

  5. my love i’m so sorry you haven’t been feeling well. please know i’m always here for you okay!! I am so proud of all of your accomplishments. you truly are amazing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s