Dear Reader: The Comfort and Joy of Books by Cathy Rentzenbrink – eARC Book Review

Blurb from Goodreads 'Reading has saved my life, again and again, and has held my hand through every difficult time' For as long as she can remember, Cathy Rentzenbrink has lost and found herself in stories. Growing up she was rarely seen without her nose in a book and read in secret long after lights … Continue reading Dear Reader: The Comfort and Joy of Books by Cathy Rentzenbrink – eARC Book Review

The Angel’s Game (Cemetery of Forgotten Books #2) by Carlos Ruiz Zafon – Book Review

Blurb from Goodreads In an abandoned mansion at the heart of Barcelona, a young man, David Martín, makes his living by writing sensationalist novels under a pseudonym. The survivor of a troubled childhood, he has taken refuge in the world of books and spends his nights spinning baroque tales about the city’s underworld. But perhaps … Continue reading The Angel’s Game (Cemetery of Forgotten Books #2) by Carlos Ruiz Zafon – Book Review

‘Bookworm: A Memoir of Childhood Reading’ by Lucy Mangan – eARC Book Review

Blurb from Goodreads When Lucy Mangan was little, stories were everything. They opened up new worlds and cast light on all the complexities she encountered in this one. She was whisked away to Narnia – and Kirrin Island – and Wonderland. She ventured down rabbit holes and womble burrows into midnight gardens and chocolate factories. She … Continue reading ‘Bookworm: A Memoir of Childhood Reading’ by Lucy Mangan – eARC Book Review

‘Words in Deep Blue’ by Cath Crowley – Book Review

Blurb from Goodreads Sometimes love is written in the margins ... Two teens find their way back to each other in a bookstore full of secrets and crushes, grief and hope - and letters hidden between the pages. Years ago, Rachel had a crush on Henry Jones. The day before she moved away, she tucked … Continue reading ‘Words in Deep Blue’ by Cath Crowley – Book Review

‘The Jane Austen Project’ by Kathleen A. Flynn – Book Review

Blurb from Goodreads Perfect for fans of Jane Austen, this engrossing debut novel offers an unusual twist on the legacy of one of the world's most celebrated and beloved authors: two researchers from the future are sent back in time to meet Jane and recover a suspected unpublished novel. London, 1815: Two travelers—Rachel Katzman and Liam … Continue reading ‘The Jane Austen Project’ by Kathleen A. Flynn – Book Review

‘Bookishly Ever After’ by Isabel Bandeira – Book Review

Blurb from Goodreads In a perfect world, sixteen-year-old Phoebe Martins’ life would be a book. Preferably a YA novel with magic and a hot paranormal love interest. Unfortunately, her life probably wouldn’t even qualify for a quiet contemporary. But when Phoebe finds out that Dev, the hottest guy in the clarinet section, might actually have … Continue reading ‘Bookishly Ever After’ by Isabel Bandeira – Book Review

‘Tangleweed and Brine’ by Deirdre Sullivan – Book Review

Blurb from Goodreads Tangled tales of earth, salty tales of water Bewitched retellings of thirteen classic fairy-tales with brave and resilient heroines. Tales of blood and intrigue, betrayal and enchantment from a leading Irish YA author. My Review Tangleweed and Brine is without a doubt the best YA short story collection I have ever read. … Continue reading ‘Tangleweed and Brine’ by Deirdre Sullivan – Book Review

‘The Shadow of the Wind’ by Carlos Ruiz Zafon – Book review

Blurb from Goodreads Barcelona, 1945: A city slowly heals in the aftermath of the Spanish Civil War, and Daniel, an antiquarian book dealer’s son who mourns the loss of his mother, finds solace in a mysterious book entitled The Shadow of the Wind, by one Julián Carax. But when he sets out to find the … Continue reading ‘The Shadow of the Wind’ by Carlos Ruiz Zafon – Book review