‘Bookworm: A Memoir of Childhood Reading’ by Lucy Mangan – eARC Book Review

Blurb from Goodreads When Lucy Mangan was little, stories were everything. They opened up new worlds and cast light on all the complexities she encountered in this one. She was whisked away to Narnia – and Kirrin Island – and Wonderland. She ventured down rabbit holes and womble burrows into midnight gardens and chocolate factories. She … Continue reading ‘Bookworm: A Memoir of Childhood Reading’ by Lucy Mangan – eARC Book Review

Advertisements

‘Words in Deep Blue’ by Cath Crowley – Book Review

Blurb Sometimes love is written in the margins ...  Two teens find their way back to each other in a bookstore full of secrets and crushes, grief and hope - and letters hidden between the pages. Years ago, Rachel had a crush on Henry Jones. The day before she moved away, she tucked a love … Continue reading ‘Words in Deep Blue’ by Cath Crowley – Book Review

‘The Jane Austen Project’ by Kathleen A. Flynn – Book Review

Blurb Perfect for fans of Jane Austen, this engrossing debut novel offers an unusual twist on the legacy of one of the world's most celebrated and beloved authors: two researchers from the future are sent back in time to meet Jane and recover a suspected unpublished novel. London, 1815: Two travelers—Rachel Katzman and Liam Finucane—arrive in … Continue reading ‘The Jane Austen Project’ by Kathleen A. Flynn – Book Review

‘Bookishly Ever After’ by Isabel Bandeira – Book Review

“Life is really good,” I said, not even caring if I sounded incredibly goofy. “Like, burst-into-song, movie musical good.” This book… AWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW!!! I don’t think I’ve ever read a cuter book!! I just absolutely LOVED it!! happy wiggle “Once upon a time, there was a geeky book nerd… This nerd also happened to be a … Continue reading ‘Bookishly Ever After’ by Isabel Bandeira – Book Review

‘Tangleweed and Brine’ by Deirdre Sullivan – Book Review

Tangleweed and Brine is without a doubt the best YA short story collection I have ever read. The writing is sumptuous. There is no better word to describe it. It is dark and subversive but in the best way possible. The stories are almost stark. Bare. But it's this terse writing style that actually is … Continue reading ‘Tangleweed and Brine’ by Deirdre Sullivan – Book Review

‘The Shadow of the Wind’ by Carlos Ruiz Zafon – Book review

Once upon a time, in a green and beautiful land, there lived a young girl. She was a happy child full of the joys of hope and possibilities. She spent her days studying and learning, her evenings walking through fields and along the riverbank with her dogs… And her nights? They were the most special … Continue reading ‘The Shadow of the Wind’ by Carlos Ruiz Zafon – Book review