‘Before Ever After’ by Samantha Sotto – Book Review

Blurb from Goodreads "A smartly written romance, mystery and historical adventure all wrapped up ina page-turner that will have you guessing until the very end." – Adena Halpern, author of The Ten Best Days of My Life Three years after her husband Max's death, Shelley feels no more adjusted to being a widow than she did … Continue reading ‘Before Ever After’ by Samantha Sotto – Book Review

Advertisements

‘Bone Gap’ by Laura Ruby – Book Review

Blurb from Goodreads Everyone knows Bone Gap is full of gaps—gaps to trip you up, gaps to slide through so you can disappear forever. So when young, beautiful Roza went missing, the people of Bone Gap weren’t surprised. After all, it wasn’t the first time that someone had slipped away and left Finn and Sean … Continue reading ‘Bone Gap’ by Laura Ruby – Book Review

‘The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender’ by Leslye Walton – Book Review

Blurb from Goodreads To my great misfortune, I was once mistaken for an angel Pain in love is the Roux family birthright. For Ava Lavender, a girl born with the wings of a bird, it is key to her fate. Ava traces the lives and loves of the Roux women as she tries to understand … Continue reading ‘The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender’ by Leslye Walton – Book Review

‘Pan’s Labyrinth: The Labyrinth of the Faun’ by Cornelia Funke and Guillermo del Toro – Book Review

Blurb from Goodreads Fans of dark fairy-tales like The Hazel Wood and The Cruel Princewill relish this atmospheric and absorbing book based on Guillermo del Toro’s critically acclaimed movie. Oscar winning writer-director Guillermo del Toro and New York Times bestselling author Cornelia Funke have come together to transform del Toro’s hit movie Pan’s Labyrinth into an epic and dark fantasy novel for … Continue reading ‘Pan’s Labyrinth: The Labyrinth of the Faun’ by Cornelia Funke and Guillermo del Toro – Book Review

‘The Jane Austen Project’ by Kathleen A. Flynn – Book Review

Blurb Perfect for fans of Jane Austen, this engrossing debut novel offers an unusual twist on the legacy of one of the world's most celebrated and beloved authors: two researchers from the future are sent back in time to meet Jane and recover a suspected unpublished novel. London, 1815: Two travelers—Rachel Katzman and Liam Finucane—arrive in … Continue reading ‘The Jane Austen Project’ by Kathleen A. Flynn – Book Review

‘Lanny’ by Max Porter – Book Review

Blurb There’s a village sixty miles outside London. It’s no different from many other villages in England: one pub, one church, red-brick cottages, council cottages and a few bigger houses dotted about. Voices rise up, as they might do anywhere, speaking of loving and needing and working and dying and walking the dogs. This village … Continue reading ‘Lanny’ by Max Porter – Book Review

‘Gingerbread’ by Helen Oyeyemi – Book Review

Blurb The prize-winning, bestselling author of Boy, Snow, Bird and What Is Not Yours Is Not Yours returns with a bewitching and inventive novel. Influenced by the mysterious place gingerbread holds in classic children's stories--equal parts wholesome and uncanny, from the tantalizing witch's house in "Hansel and Gretel" to the man-shaped confection who one day decides to run as … Continue reading ‘Gingerbread’ by Helen Oyeyemi – Book Review

‘Because You Love To Hate Me: 13 Tales of Villainy’ edited by Amerie – Book Review

So the set up of this anthology of villainous short stories was that 13 YA authors were each paired with 13 different BookTubers to create a short story between them. Each BookTuber gave their YA author a unique prompt from which the author was then tasked with creating a short story. On a whole the … Continue reading ‘Because You Love To Hate Me: 13 Tales of Villainy’ edited by Amerie – Book Review

‘Tangleweed and Brine’ by Deirdre Sullivan – Book Review

Tangleweed and Brine is without a doubt the best YA short story collection I have ever read. The writing is sumptuous. There is no better word to describe it. It is dark and subversive but in the best way possible. The stories are almost stark. Bare. But it's this terse writing style that actually is … Continue reading ‘Tangleweed and Brine’ by Deirdre Sullivan – Book Review

‘Love and Gravity’ by Samantha Sotto – eARC Book Review

What is great love? Is it a thunderous storm in your heart? Or a gentle whisper to soothe your soul? How much love is one heart capable of? I don't have the answers to these questions but this book goes a long way to shining a light on the possibilities of love; of opening your … Continue reading ‘Love and Gravity’ by Samantha Sotto – eARC Book Review