‘The Quiet at the End of the World’ by Lauren James – Book Review

Blurb from Goodreads How far would you go to save those you love? Lowrie and Shen are the youngest people on the planet after a virus caused global infertility. Closeted in a pocket of London and doted upon by a small, ageing community, the pair spend their days mudlarking for artefacts from history and looking … Continue reading ‘The Quiet at the End of the World’ by Lauren James – Book Review

Advertisements

‘Monstrous Heart’ by Claire McKenna – eARC Book Review

Blurb from Goodreads A sensational debut novel perfect for fans of Outlander and The Binding. This is gothic, epic, romantic fantasy at it’s very best; a tale of magic, intrigue on dangerous waters and a love story for the ages. When Arden Beacon is sent to the lighthouse, she is simply a woman with a … Continue reading ‘Monstrous Heart’ by Claire McKenna – eARC Book Review

‘The Beautiful’ by Renee Ahdieh – eARC Book Review

Blurb from Goodreads New York Times bestselling author Renée Ahdieh returns with a sumptuous, sultry and romantic new series set in 19th century New Orleans where vampires hide in plain sight. In 1872, New Orleans is a city ruled by the dead. But to seventeen-year-old Celine Rousseau, New Orleans provides her a refuge after she's forced … Continue reading ‘The Beautiful’ by Renee Ahdieh – eARC Book Review

‘Wintersong’ by S. Jae-Jones – Book Review

Blurb from Goodreads The last night of the year. Now the days of winter begin and the Goblin King rides abroad, searching for his bride… All her life, Liesl has heard tales of the beautiful, dangerous Goblin King. They’ve enraptured her mind, her spirit, and inspired her musical compositions. Now eighteen and helping to run … Continue reading ‘Wintersong’ by S. Jae-Jones – Book Review

‘The Surface Breaks’ by Louise O’Neill – Book Review

Blurb from Goodreads Deep beneath the sea, off the cold Irish coast, Gaia is a young mermaid who dreams of freedom from her controlling father. On her first swim to the surface, she is drawn towards a human boy. She longs to join his carefree world, but how much will she have to sacrifice? What … Continue reading ‘The Surface Breaks’ by Louise O’Neill – Book Review

‘Wicked Fox’ (Gumiho #1) by Kat Cho – Book Review

Blurb from Goodreads A fresh and addictive fantasy-romance set in modern-day Seoul. Eighteen-year-old Gu Miyoung has a secret--she's a gumiho, a nine-tailed fox who must devour the energy of men in order to survive. Because so few believe in the old tales anymore, and with so many evil men no one will miss, the modern … Continue reading ‘Wicked Fox’ (Gumiho #1) by Kat Cho – Book Review

‘The Bear and the Nightingale’ by Katherine Arden – eARC Book Review

Blurb from Goodreads At the edge of the Russian wilderness, winter lasts most of the year and the snowdrifts grow taller than houses. But Vasilisa doesn't mind--she spends the winter nights huddled around the embers of a fire with her beloved siblings, listening to her nurse's fairy tales. Above all, she loves the chilling story … Continue reading ‘The Bear and the Nightingale’ by Katherine Arden – eARC Book Review

‘Obsidian’ (Lux #1) by Jennifer L. Armentrout – Book Review

Blurb from Goodreads Starting over sucks. When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring… until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up. And then he … Continue reading ‘Obsidian’ (Lux #1) by Jennifer L. Armentrout – Book Review

‘Indelible’ by Adelia Saunders – eARC Book Review

Blurb from Goodreads In this masterful, enthralling debut novel about fate and family history, a young woman sees the truth about people written on their skin. Magdalena has an unsettling gift. She sees writing on the bodies of everyone she meets—names, dates, details both banal and profound—and her only relief from the onslaught of information … Continue reading ‘Indelible’ by Adelia Saunders – eARC Book Review

‘The Ten Thousand Doors of January’ by Alix E. Harrow – eARC Book Review

Blurb from NetGalley EVERY STORY OPENS A DOOR In a sprawling mansion filled with peculiar treasures, January Scaller is a curiosity herself. As the ward of the wealthy Mr. Locke, she feels little different from the artifacts that decorate the halls: carefully maintained, largely ignored and utterly out of place. But her quiet existence is … Continue reading ‘The Ten Thousand Doors of January’ by Alix E. Harrow – eARC Book Review