The Start of Us by Hannah Emery – eARC Book Review

Blurb from Goodreads A moving and page-turning love story perfect for fans of Roxie Cooper, Josie Silver and Isabelle Broom. Daniel and EricaFrom the moment they meet their worlds are changed forever. They know that fate has led them to each other.Daniel knows Erica is special, but he doesn’t quite understand how special she is. … Continue reading The Start of Us by Hannah Emery – eARC Book Review

A Single Swallow by Ling Zhang – eARC Book Review

Blurb from Goodreads The eagerly awaited English translation of award-winning author Zhang Ling’s epic and intimate novel about the devastation of war, forgiveness, redemption, and the enduring power of love. On the day of the historic 1945 Jewel Voice Broadcast—in which Emperor Hirohito announced Japan’s surrender to the Allied forces, bringing an end to World … Continue reading A Single Swallow by Ling Zhang – eARC Book Review

The Dreamers by Karen Thompson Walker – eARC Book Review

Blurb from Goodreads One night in an isolated college town in the hills of Southern California, a first-year student stumbles into her dorm room, falls asleep—and doesn’t wake up. She sleeps through the morning, into the evening. Her roommate, Mei, cannot rouse her. Neither can the paramedics, nor the perplexed doctors at the hospital. When … Continue reading The Dreamers by Karen Thompson Walker – eARC Book Review

‘The Night Circus’ by Erin Morgenstern – Book review

Blurb from Goodreads The circus arrives without warning. No announcements precede it. It is simply there, when yesterday it was not. Within the black-and-white striped canvas tents is an utterly unique experience full of breathtaking amazements. It is called Le Cirque des Rêves, and it is only open at night.But behind the scenes, a fierce … Continue reading ‘The Night Circus’ by Erin Morgenstern – Book review

The Price Guide to the Occult by Leslye Walton – eARC Book Review

Blurb from Goodreads From the author of The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender comes a haunting maelstrom of magic and murder in the lush, moody Pacific Northwest. When Rona Blackburn landed on Anathema Island more than a century ago, her otherworldly skills might have benefited friendlier neighbors. Guilt and fear instead led the island’s original … Continue reading The Price Guide to the Occult by Leslye Walton – eARC Book Review

The Language of Cherries by Jen Marie Hawkins – eARC Book Review

Blurb from Goodreads When Evie Perez is cut off from everything she loves and forced to move to Iceland for the summer, she takes her canvas and paintbrushes into the picturesque cherry orchard behind her guesthouse. She stains her lips with stolen cherries in the midnight sun and paints a boy she’s never met. Oskar … Continue reading The Language of Cherries by Jen Marie Hawkins – eARC Book Review

‘The Sisters Grimm’ by Menna Van Praag – eARC Book Review

Blurb from Goodreads There are hundreds, possibly thousands, of sisters Grimm on Earth.You may well be one of them, though you might never know it.You think you’re ordinary.You never suspect that you’re stronger than you seem, braver than you feel or greater than you imagine.But I hope that by the time you finish this tale, … Continue reading ‘The Sisters Grimm’ by Menna Van Praag – eARC Book Review

‘Grief is the Thing with Feathers’ by Max Porter – Book Review

Blurb from Goodreads In a London flat, two young boys face the unbearable sadness of their mother's sudden death. Their father, a Ted Hughes scholar and scruffy romantic, imagines a future of well-meaning visitors and emptiness. In this moment of despair they are visited by Crow - antagonist, trickster, healer, babysitter. This self-described sentimental bird … Continue reading ‘Grief is the Thing with Feathers’ by Max Porter – Book Review

‘The World That We Knew’ by Alice Hoffman – eARC Book Review

Blurb from Goodreads In Berlin in 1941 during humanity’s darkest hour, three unforgettable young women must act with courage and love to survive, from the New York Times bestselling author of The Dovekeepers and The Marriage of Opposites Alice Hoffman.  In Berlin, at the time when the world changed, Hanni Kohn knows she must send her twelve-year-old daughter away to save … Continue reading ‘The World That We Knew’ by Alice Hoffman – eARC Book Review

‘The Lonely Hearts Hotel’ by Heather O’Neill – eARC Book Review

Blurb from Goodreads With echoes of The Night Circus, a spellbinding story about two gifted orphans in love with each other since they can remember whose childhood talents allow them to rewrite their future.  The Lonely Hearts Hotel is a love story with the power of legend. An unparalleled tale of charismatic pianos, invisible dance partners, radicalized … Continue reading ‘The Lonely Hearts Hotel’ by Heather O’Neill – eARC Book Review