The Cartographers by Peng Shepherd – Book Review

Title: The Cartographers (eARC) Author: Peng Shepherd Genre: Mystery, Adventure, Fantastical, Magical Realism, Paranormal Blurb from Goodreads There are some maps you can lose yourself in... Nell Young has lived her life in and around maps. Her father, Dr. David Young, was one of the most respected cartographers in the world. But this morning he … Continue reading The Cartographers by Peng Shepherd – Book Review

The Gloaming by Kirsty Logan – Book Review

Book Title: The Gloaming (review copy) Author: Kirsty Logan Book Series: Gracekeepers, #0.5 (The Gloaming acts as a stand-alone prequel to Logan’s 2015 novel Gracekeepers) Genre: Adult fiction, Fantasy, Magical Realism, Gothic Blurb from Goodreads 'The best lives leave a mark.' A bewitching tale of first love, shattering grief, and the dangerous magic that draws … Continue reading The Gloaming by Kirsty Logan – Book Review

The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake by Aimee Bender

Book Title: The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake Author: Aimee Bender Genre: Magical Realism, Coming of Age Blurb from Goodreads On the eve of her ninth birthday, unassuming Rose Edelstein, a girl at the periphery of schoolyard games and her distracted parents’ attention, bites into her mother’s homemade lemon-chocolate cake and discovers she has a … Continue reading The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake by Aimee Bender

The Beautiful Ones by Silvia Moreno-Garcia – eARC Book Review

Blurb from Goodreads From the New York Times bestselling author of Mexican Gothic comes a sweeping romance with a dash of magic. They are the Beautiful Ones, Loisail’s most notable socialites, and this spring is Nina’s chance to join their ranks, courtesy of her well-connected cousin and his calculating wife. But the Grand Season has … Continue reading The Beautiful Ones by Silvia Moreno-Garcia – eARC Book Review

Quilaq by Rebecca Burns – eARC Book Review

Blurb from Goodreads Stokeland. It sits at a fork between two roads, one a thick, commercial highway bedeviled by ice for ninety percent of the year; the other a stripped, frozen weave of a road, impassable for ten months out of twelve and huddled beneath wedges of brilliant white snow. It is a wonder that … Continue reading Quilaq by Rebecca Burns – eARC Book Review

The Water Dancer by Ta-Nehisi Coates – eARC Book Review

Blurb from Goodreads Hiram Walker is born into bondage on a Virginia plantation. But he is also born gifted with a mysterious power that he won't discover until he is almost a man, when he risks everything for a chance to escape. One fateful decision will carry him away from his makeshift plantation family - … Continue reading The Water Dancer by Ta-Nehisi Coates – eARC Book Review

Magic Lessons: A Prequel to Practical Magic by Alice Hoffman – eARC Book Review

Blurb from Goodreads From New York Times bestselling author Alice Hoffman comes the origin story of her beloved novel and basis for the cult classic film Practical Magic—taking us on a captivating journey to the Salem witch trials, featuring the indomitable matriarch of the Owens family, Maria. It’s no secret that love has plagued the … Continue reading Magic Lessons: A Prequel to Practical Magic by Alice Hoffman – eARC Book Review

The Start of Us by Hannah Emery – eARC Book Review

Blurb from Goodreads A moving and page-turning love story perfect for fans of Roxie Cooper, Josie Silver and Isabelle Broom. Daniel and EricaFrom the moment they meet their worlds are changed forever. They know that fate has led them to each other.Daniel knows Erica is special, but he doesn’t quite understand how special she is. … Continue reading The Start of Us by Hannah Emery – eARC Book Review

A Single Swallow by Zhang Ling – eARC Book Review

Blurb from Goodreads The eagerly awaited English translation of award-winning author Zhang Ling’s epic and intimate novel about the devastation of war, forgiveness, redemption, and the enduring power of love. On the day of the historic 1945 Jewel Voice Broadcast—in which Emperor Hirohito announced Japan’s surrender to the Allied forces, bringing an end to World … Continue reading A Single Swallow by Zhang Ling – eARC Book Review

The Dreamers by Karen Thompson Walker – eARC Book Review

Blurb from Goodreads One night in an isolated college town in the hills of Southern California, a first-year student stumbles into her dorm room, falls asleep—and doesn’t wake up. She sleeps through the morning, into the evening. Her roommate, Mei, cannot rouse her. Neither can the paramedics, nor the perplexed doctors at the hospital. When … Continue reading The Dreamers by Karen Thompson Walker – eARC Book Review

‘The Night Circus’ by Erin Morgenstern – Book review

Blurb from Goodreads The circus arrives without warning. No announcements precede it. It is simply there, when yesterday it was not. Within the black-and-white striped canvas tents is an utterly unique experience full of breathtaking amazements. It is called Le Cirque des Rêves, and it is only open at night.But behind the scenes, a fierce … Continue reading ‘The Night Circus’ by Erin Morgenstern – Book review

The Price Guide to the Occult by Leslye Walton – eARC Book Review

Blurb from Goodreads From the author of The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender comes a haunting maelstrom of magic and murder in the lush, moody Pacific Northwest. When Rona Blackburn landed on Anathema Island more than a century ago, her otherworldly skills might have benefited friendlier neighbors. Guilt and fear instead led the island’s original … Continue reading The Price Guide to the Occult by Leslye Walton – eARC Book Review