Elektra by Jennifer Saint – Book Review

Title: Elektra (review copy) Author: Jennifer Saint Genre/Themes: Greek Mythology Retelling, Fantasy, Violence, Vengeance, War Blurb from Goodreads The House of Atreus is cursed. A bloodline tainted by a generational cycle of violence and vengeance. This is the story of three women, their fates inextricably tied to this curse, and the fickle nature of men … Continue reading Elektra by Jennifer Saint – Book Review

For the Most Beautiful by Emily Hauser – Book Review

Title: For the Most Beautiful Series: Golden Apple Trilogy #1 Author: Emily Hauser Genre: Greek Mythology Retelling, Fantasy Blurb from Goodreads Three thousand years ago a war took place that gave birth to legends - to Achilles, the greatest of the Greeks, and Hector, prince of Troy. It was a war that made - and … Continue reading For the Most Beautiful by Emily Hauser – Book Review

Ariadne by Jennifer Saint – Book Review

Title: Ariadne (review copy) Author: Jennifer Saint Genre/Themes/Content Warnings: Greek Mythology, Feminism, Giving Voice to the Silenced, human sacrifice, animal sacrifice, suicide, rape, mild gore, depression Blurb from Goodreads A mesmerising retelling of the ancient Greek myth of Theseus and the Minotaur. Perfect for fans of CIRCE, THE SONG OF ACHILLES, and THE SILENCE OF … Continue reading Ariadne by Jennifer Saint – Book Review

The Penelopiad by Margaret Atwood – Book Review

Title: The Penelopiad Author: Margaret Atwood Genre/Series: Greek Mythology, Retelling, Feminism Blurb from Goodreads For Penelope, Odysseus's wife, running a kingdom while her husband is away fighting in the Trojan War is no simple matter. Already distressed that he had been lured away because of the shocking behaviour of her beautiful cousin Helen, Penelope must … Continue reading The Penelopiad by Margaret Atwood – Book Review

Circe by Madeline Miller – Book Review

Title: Circe Author: Madeline Miller Genre/Themes: Greek Mythology, Feminism Blurb from Goodreads In the house of Helios, god of the sun and mightiest of the Titans, a daughter is born. But Circe has neither the look nor the voice of divinity, and is scorned and rejected by her kin. Increasingly isolated, she turns to mortals … Continue reading Circe by Madeline Miller – Book Review

Gods of Jade and Shadow by Silvia Moreno-Garcia – Book Review

Title: Gods of Jade and Shadow (review copy) Author: Silvia Moreno-Garcia Genre/Themes: Mayan Mythology, Fantasy, Historical Fiction, Jazz Age Blurb from Goodreads The Jazz Age is in full swing, but it's passing Casiopea Tun by. She's too busy scrubbing floors in her wealthy grandfather's house to do anything more than dream of a life far … Continue reading Gods of Jade and Shadow by Silvia Moreno-Garcia – Book Review

House of Names by Colm Tóibín – Book Review

Title: House of Names Author: Colm Tóibín Genre/Themes: Greek Mythology, Literary, Revenge, Retribution, Matricide Blurb from Goodreads 'They cut her hair before they dragged her to the place of sacrifice. Her mouth was gagged to stop her cursing her father, her cowardly, two-tongued father. Nonetheless, they heard her muffled screams.' On the day of his … Continue reading House of Names by Colm Tóibín – Book Review

Gingerbread by Helen Oyeyemi – Book Review

Title: Gingerbread Author: Helen Oyeyemi Genre/Themes: Literary Fiction, Folklore, Fable, Fairytale, Subversive Fiction, Surrealism, Feminism, Race Blurb from Goodreads The prize-winning, bestselling author of Boy, Snow, Bird and What Is Not Yours Is Not Yours returns with a bewitching and inventive novel. Influenced by the mysterious place gingerbread holds in classic children's stories--equal parts wholesome … Continue reading Gingerbread by Helen Oyeyemi – Book Review

The Silence of the Girls by Pat Barker – Book Review

Title: The Silence of the Girls Series: Women of Troy #1 Author: Pat Barker Genre/Themes: Greek Mythology, Drama, Violence, War, Troy, Silenced Female Voices Blurb from Goodreads The ancient city of Troy has withstood a decade under siege of the powerful Greek army, which continues to wage bloody war over a stolen woman—Helen. In the … Continue reading The Silence of the Girls by Pat Barker – Book Review

The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller – Book Review

Title: The Song of Achilles Author: Madeline Miller Genre/Themes: Greek Mythology, Love, LGBTQ+, War, Gods and Mortals, Trojan War Blurb from Goodreads Profoundly moving and breathtakingly original, this rendering of the epic Trojan War is a dazzling feat of the imagination, a devastating love story, and an almighty battle between gods and kings, peace and … Continue reading The Song of Achilles by Madeline Miller – Book Review

The Odyssey by Homer, translated by Emily Wilson – Book Review

Title: The Odyssey Author: Homer Translated by: Emily Wilson Genre/Themes: Classic, Greek Mythology, War, Adventure Blurb from Goodreads The first great adventure story in the Western canon, The Odyssey is a poem about violence and the aftermath of war; about wealth, poverty, and power; about marriage and family; about travelers, hospitality, and the yearning for … Continue reading The Odyssey by Homer, translated by Emily Wilson – Book Review

A Thousand Ships by Natalie Haynes – Book Review

Title: A Thousand Ships Author: Natalie Haynes Genre/Themes: Greek Mythology, Retelling of Troy, Women’s Prize for Fiction Nominee Blurb from Goodreads This is the women’s war, just as much as it is the men’s. They have waited long enough for their turn . . . This was never the story of one woman, or two. … Continue reading A Thousand Ships by Natalie Haynes – Book Review