Ariadne by Jennifer Saint – eARC Book Review

Blurb from Goodreads A mesmerising retelling of the ancient Greek myth of Theseus and the Minotaur. Perfect for fans of CIRCE, A SONG OF ACHILLES, and THE SILENCE OF THE GIRLS.As Princesses of Crete and daughters of the fearsome King Minos, Ariadne and her sister Phaedra grow up hearing the hoofbeats and bellows of the … Continue reading Ariadne by Jennifer Saint – eARC Book Review

‘The Penelopiad’ by Margaret Atwood – Book Review

Blurb from Goodreads For Penelope, Odysseus's wife, running a kingdom while her husband is away fighting in the Trojan War is no simple matter. Already distressed that he had been lured away because of the shocking behaviour of her beautiful cousin Helen, Penelope must also raise her wayward son, face scandalous rumours, and keep more … Continue reading ‘The Penelopiad’ by Margaret Atwood – Book Review

‘Circe’ by Madeline Miller – Book Review

Blurb from Goodreads In the house of Helios, god of the sun and mightiest of the Titans, a daughter is born. But Circe has neither the look nor the voice of divinity, and is scorned and rejected by her kin. Increasingly isolated, she turns to mortals for companionship, leading her to discover a power forbidden … Continue reading ‘Circe’ by Madeline Miller – Book Review

‘Gods of Jade and Shadow’ by Silvia Moreno-Garcia – eARC Book Review

Blurb from Goodreads The Jazz Age is in full swing, but it's passing Casiopea Tun by. She's too busy scrubbing floors in her wealthy grandfather's house to do anything more than dream of a life far from her dusty, small town in southern Mexico. A life she could call her own. This dream is impossible, … Continue reading ‘Gods of Jade and Shadow’ by Silvia Moreno-Garcia – eARC Book Review

‘House of Names’ by Colm Toibin – Book Review

Blurb from Goodreads 'They cut her hair before they dragged her to the place of sacrifice. Her mouth was gagged to stop her cursing her father, her cowardly, two-tongued father. Nonetheless, they heard her muffled screams.' On the day of his daughter's wedding, Agamemnon orders her sacrifice. His daughter is led to her death, and … Continue reading ‘House of Names’ by Colm Toibin – Book Review

‘Gingerbread’ by Helen Oyeyemi – Book Review

Blurb from Goodreads The prize-winning, bestselling author of Boy, Snow, Bird and What Is Not Yours Is Not Yours returns with a bewitching and inventive novel. Influenced by the mysterious place gingerbread holds in classic children's stories--equal parts wholesome and uncanny, from the tantalizing witch's house in "Hansel and Gretel" to the man-shaped confection who … Continue reading ‘Gingerbread’ by Helen Oyeyemi – Book Review

‘The Silence of the Girls’ by Pat Barker – Book Review

Blurb from Goodreads The ancient city of Troy has withstood a decade under siege of the powerful Greek army, which continues to wage bloody war over a stolen woman—Helen. In the Greek camp, another woman—Briseis—watches and waits for the war's outcome. She was queen of one of Troy's neighboring kingdoms, until Achilles, Greece's greatest warrior, … Continue reading ‘The Silence of the Girls’ by Pat Barker – Book Review

‘The Song of Achilles’ by Madeline Miller – Book Review

Blurb from Goodreads Profoundly moving and breathtakingly original, this rendering of the epic Trojan War is a dazzling feat of the imagination, a devastating love story, and an almighty battle between gods and kings, peace and glory, immortal fame and the human heart. Greece in the age of heroes. Patroclus, an awkward young prince, has … Continue reading ‘The Song of Achilles’ by Madeline Miller – Book Review

‘The Odyssey’ by Homer, translated by Emily Wilson – Book Review

Blurb from Goodreads The first great adventure story in the Western canon, The Odyssey is a poem about violence and the aftermath of war; about wealth, poverty, and power; about marriage and family; about travelers, hospitality, and the yearning for home. In this fresh, authoritative version--the first English translation of The Odyssey by a woman--this … Continue reading ‘The Odyssey’ by Homer, translated by Emily Wilson – Book Review

‘A Thousand Ships’by Natalie Haynes – Book Review

Blurb from Goodreads This is the women’s war, just as much as it is the men’s. They have waited long enough for their turn . . . This was never the story of one woman, or two. It was the story of them all . . . In the middle of the night, a woman … Continue reading ‘A Thousand Ships’by Natalie Haynes – Book Review