The Anthropocene Reviewed by John Green – Book Review

Book Title: The Anthropocene Reviewed Author: John Green Genre: Non-Fiction, Essay Collection Blurb from Goodreads A deeply moving and mind-expanding collection of personal essays in the first ever work of non-fiction from #1 internationally bestselling author John GreenThe Anthropocene is the current geological age, in which human activity has profoundly shaped the planet and its … Continue reading The Anthropocene Reviewed by John Green – Book Review

The Dog by Kerstin Ekman, translated by Linda Schenk and Rochelle Wright – Mini Book Review

Book Title: The Dog Author: Kerstin Ekman Genre/Category: Literary Novella, Translated Fiction Blurb from Goodreads In the heart of the tranquil countryside, a young puppy leaves his home to eagerly follow his mother and master. But away from the safe haven of the farm, the puppy soon becomes lost and is left to struggle for … Continue reading The Dog by Kerstin Ekman, translated by Linda Schenk and Rochelle Wright – Mini Book Review

Evolutions: Fifteen Myths that Explain Our World by Oren Harman – Book Review

Title: Evolutions: Fifteen Myths that Explain Our World Author: Oren Harman Genre/Category: Non-Fiction, Science, Philosophy Blurb from Goodreads A brilliant lyrical exploration of how modern science illuminates what it means to be human, from the award-winning author of The Price of Altruism We no longer think, like the ancient Chinese did, that the world was hatched from … Continue reading Evolutions: Fifteen Myths that Explain Our World by Oren Harman – Book Review

The Butterfly Shell by Maureen White – Book Review

Book Title: The Butterfly Shell Author: Maureen White Genre/Category: Contemporary Junior YA Blurb from Goodreads There are some things about me you should know.1. I always wear my butterfly shell - even when I’m swimming or sleeping2. I don’t cut myself anymore3. I believe in ghosts. It's the beginning of First Year. Marie loves reading, … Continue reading The Butterfly Shell by Maureen White – Book Review

The Other Half of Happiness (Sofia Khan #2) by Ayisha Malik – Book Review

Please note: The Other Half of Happiness is the sequel to Sofia Khan is Not Obliged. Therefore, parts of the blurb that follows could be construed as spoilers for the outcome of book one. My review for book one, Sofia Khan Is Not Obliged can be found by clicking here. Blurb from Goodreads Sofia Khan … Continue reading The Other Half of Happiness (Sofia Khan #2) by Ayisha Malik – Book Review

The Art of Losing: Poems of Grief and Healing edited by Kevin Young – Book Review

Blurb from Goodreads Poetry serves a unique role in our lives, distilling human experience and emotion down to truths as potent as they are brief. There are two times most people turn to it: for love and loss. The Art of Losing is the first anthology of its kind, delivering poetry with a purpose. Editor … Continue reading The Art of Losing: Poems of Grief and Healing edited by Kevin Young – Book Review

The Lost Storyteller by Amanda Block – eARC Book Review

Blurb from NetGalley Rebecca hasn't seen her father Leo since she was six. Her family never talk about him, and she has long since pushed him firmly to the back of her mind. All she knows is that, once upon a time, he was a well-loved children's TV star. But when a journalist turns up … Continue reading The Lost Storyteller by Amanda Block – eARC Book Review

A Psalm for the Wild-Built by Becky Chambers – eARC Book Review

Blurb from NetGalley In A Psalm for the Wild-Built, Hugo Award-winner Becky Chambers's delightful new Monk & Robot series gives us hope for the future. It's been centuries since the robots of Panga gained self-awareness and laid down their tools; centuries since they wandered, en masse, into the wilderness, never to be seen again; centuries since … Continue reading A Psalm for the Wild-Built by Becky Chambers – eARC Book Review

Someone at a Distance by Dorothy Whipple – Book Review

Blurb from Goodreads Written in 1953, the last book by novelist Dorothy Whipple, Someone at a Distance is a story about the destruction of a marriage. Ellen is “that unfashionable creature, a happy housewife” who loves her life in the English countryside. She tends her garden, dotes on her children, and, when she remembers, visits … Continue reading Someone at a Distance by Dorothy Whipple – Book Review

Lizzie and Dante by Mary Bly – eARC Book Review

Blurb from NetGalley The insightful, audacious, and deeply romantic story of a woman whose life turns upside down on a magical holiday in Italy - perfect for fans of Beautiful Ruins or Under the Tuscan Sun. . . On the heels of a difficult break-up and a devastating diagnosis, Shakespearean scholar Lizzie Delford decides to … Continue reading Lizzie and Dante by Mary Bly – eARC Book Review

Malibu Rising by Taylor Jenkins Reid – eARC Book Review

Blurb from Goodreads A lifetime holding it together. One party will bring it crashing down. Malibu: August, 1983. It's the day of Nina Riva's annual end-of-summer party, and anticipation is at a fever pitch. Everyone wants to be around the famous Rivas: Nina, the talented surfer and supermodel; brothers Jay and Hud, one a championship … Continue reading Malibu Rising by Taylor Jenkins Reid – eARC Book Review

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams – Series Review

Blurb from Goodreads Suppose a good friend calmly told you over a round of drinks that the world was about to end? And suppose your friend went on to confess that he wasn't from around here at all, but rather from a small planet near Betelgeuse? And what if the world really did come to … Continue reading The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams – Series Review