‘Northanger Abbey’ by Jane Austen – Book Review

Blurb from Goodreads 'To look almost pretty, is an acquisition of higher delight to a girl who has been looking plain the first fifteen years of her life, than a beauty from her cradle can ever receive' During an eventful season at Bath, young, naïve Catherine Morland experiences the joys of fashionable society for the first time. … Continue reading ‘Northanger Abbey’ by Jane Austen – Book Review

‘Austenland’ by Shannon Hale – Mini Book Review

Blurb from Goodreads Jane is a young New York woman who can never seem to find the right man-perhaps because of her secret obsession with Mr. Darcy, as played by Colin Firth in the BBC adaptation of "Pride and Predjudice." When a wealthy relative bequeaths her a trip to an English resort catering to Austen-obsessed … Continue reading ‘Austenland’ by Shannon Hale – Mini Book Review

‘The Jane Austen Project’ by Kathleen A. Flynn – Book Review

Blurb from Goodreads Perfect for fans of Jane Austen, this engrossing debut novel offers an unusual twist on the legacy of one of the world's most celebrated and beloved authors: two researchers from the future are sent back in time to meet Jane and recover a suspected unpublished novel. London, 1815: Two travelers—Rachel Katzman and Liam … Continue reading ‘The Jane Austen Project’ by Kathleen A. Flynn – Book Review

‘Sense and Sensibility’ by Jane Austen – Book Review

Blurb from Goodreads The more I know of the world, the more am I convinced that I shall never see a man whom I can really love. I require so much!' Marianne Dashwood wears her heart on her sleeve, and when she falls in love with the dashing but unsuitable John Willoughby she ignores her … Continue reading ‘Sense and Sensibility’ by Jane Austen – Book Review

‘Emma’ by Jane Austen – Mini Book Review

Blurb from Goodreads Beautiful, spoilt, vain and irrepressibly witty, Emma organises the lives of the inhabitants of her sleepy little village and plays matchmaker with devastating effect. Emma Woodhouse is one of Austen's most captivating and vivid characters. My Review The book that started my love affair with all things Austen. It is gossipy brilliance … Continue reading ‘Emma’ by Jane Austen – Mini Book Review

‘Pride and Prejudice’ by Jane Austen – Mini Book Review

Blurb from Goodreads Since its immediate success in 1813, Pride and Prejudice has remained one of the most popular novels in the English language. Jane Austen called this brilliant work "her own darling child" and its vivacious heroine, Elizabeth Bennet, "as delightful a creature as ever appeared in print." The romantic clash between the opinionated … Continue reading ‘Pride and Prejudice’ by Jane Austen – Mini Book Review