How I Relate to Poetry Collections

Poetry and Me I like words. I like the power they have. The beauty of them. The pain they can elicit. The sadness, the joy, the fear, the ecstasy... I am unfortunately sorely lacking in the skills of stringing words together to say what I mean, what I feel. I am always long winded, can … Continue reading How I Relate to Poetry Collections

The Art of Losing: Poems of Grief and Healing edited by Kevin Young – Book Review

Blurb from Goodreads Poetry serves a unique role in our lives, distilling human experience and emotion down to truths as potent as they are brief. There are two times most people turn to it: for love and loss. The Art of Losing is the first anthology of its kind, delivering poetry with a purpose. Editor … Continue reading The Art of Losing: Poems of Grief and Healing edited by Kevin Young – Book Review

The Black Flamingo by Dean Atta – Book review

Blurb from Goodreads Fiercely told, this is a timely coming-of-age story, told in verse about the journey to self-acceptance. Perfect for fans of Sarah Crossan, Poet X and Orangeboy. A boy comes to terms with his identity as a mixed-race gay teen - then at university he finds his wings as a drag artist, The … Continue reading The Black Flamingo by Dean Atta – Book review