‘The Jane Austen Project’ by Kathleen A. Flynn – Book Review

Blurb from Goodreads Perfect for fans of Jane Austen, this engrossing debut novel offers an unusual twist on the legacy of one of the world's most celebrated and beloved authors: two researchers from the future are sent back in time to meet Jane and recover a suspected unpublished novel. London, 1815: Two travelers—Rachel Katzman and Liam … Continue reading ‘The Jane Austen Project’ by Kathleen A. Flynn – Book Review

‘The Fault in Our Stars’ by John Green – Book Review

Blurb from Goodreads Despite the tumour-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel's story is about to be completely rewritten. Insightful, bold, irreverent, … Continue reading ‘The Fault in Our Stars’ by John Green – Book Review

‘Girl in the Window’ by Penny Joelson – Book Review

Blurb from Goodreads See the world from another unique perspective in the thrilling new novel from the author of I Have No Secrets (a World Book Day title for 2018).  Nothing ever happens on Kasia's street. And Kasia would know, because her illness makes her spend days stuck at home, watching the world from her … Continue reading ‘Girl in the Window’ by Penny Joelson – Book Review

‘Lanny’ by Max Porter – Book Review

Blurb from Goodreads There’s a village sixty miles outside London. It’s no different from many other villages in England: one pub, one church, red-brick cottages, council cottages and a few bigger houses dotted about. Voices rise up, as they might do anywhere, speaking of loving and needing and working and dying and walking the dogs. … Continue reading ‘Lanny’ by Max Porter – Book Review

‘The Wicked Deep’ by Shea Ernshaw – Book Review

Blurb from Goodreads Hocus Pocus and Practical Magic meets the Salem Witch trials in this haunting story about three sisters on a quest for revenge - and how love may be the only thing powerful enough to stop them. Welcome to the cursed town of Sparrow… Two centuries ago, in the small, isolated town, three … Continue reading ‘The Wicked Deep’ by Shea Ernshaw – Book Review

‘Gingerbread’ by Helen Oyeyemi – Book Review

Blurb from Goodreads The prize-winning, bestselling author of Boy, Snow, Bird and What Is Not Yours Is Not Yours returns with a bewitching and inventive novel. Influenced by the mysterious place gingerbread holds in classic children's stories--equal parts wholesome and uncanny, from the tantalizing witch's house in "Hansel and Gretel" to the man-shaped confection who … Continue reading ‘Gingerbread’ by Helen Oyeyemi – Book Review