Night Owls by Jenn Bennett – Book Review

Title: Night Owls Alternative Title: The Anatomical Shape of a Heart Author: Jenn Bennett Genre/Themes: Young Adult, Romance, Family Dynamics Blurb from Goodreads Beatrix Adams knows exactly how she’s spending the summer before her senior year. Determined to follow in Da Vinci’s footsteps, she’s ready to tackle the one thing that will give her an … Continue reading Night Owls by Jenn Bennett – Book Review

The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater – Book Review

Title: The Scorpio Races Author: Maggie Stiefvater Genre/Themes: Young Adult, Mythology, Fantasy, Paranormal Blurb from Goodreads Some race to win. Others race to survive. It happens at the start of every November: the Scorpio Races. Riders attempt to keep hold of their water horses long enough to make it to the finish line. Some riders … Continue reading The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater – Book Review

The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas – Book Review

Title: The Hate U Give Series: The Hate U Give #1 Author: Angie Thomas Genre/Themes: YA Contemporary, USA, Black Lives Matter, Racism, Police Brutality, Unlawful Killings, High School Blurb from Goodreads "What's the point of having a voice if you're gonna be silent in those moments you shouldn't be?" Sixteen-year-old Starr lives in two worlds: … Continue reading The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas – Book Review

Aristotle and Dante Dive into the Waters of the World by Benjamin Alire Sáenz – Book Review

Title: Aristotle and Dante Dive into the Waters of the World (eARC) Series: Aristotle and Dante #2 Author: Benjamin Alire Sáenz Genre/Themes: YA Coming of Age, Historical Fiction (1980s set), LGBTQ+, First Love, HIV and AIDS, Homophobia, Racism, Grief Blurb from Goodreads In Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe, two boys in … Continue reading Aristotle and Dante Dive into the Waters of the World by Benjamin Alire Sáenz – Book Review

The Butterfly Shell by Maureen White – Book Review

Book Title: The Butterfly Shell Author: Maureen White Genre/Themes: Contemporary Junior YA, Mental Health, Bullying, Self Harm Blurb from Goodreads There are some things about me you should know.1. I always wear my butterfly shell - even when I’m swimming or sleeping2. I don’t cut myself anymore3. I believe in ghosts. It's the beginning of … Continue reading The Butterfly Shell by Maureen White – Book Review

We Are Inevitable by Gayle Forman – Book Review

Title: We Are Inevitable (review copy) Author: Gayle Forman Genre/Themes: Contemporary YA, Substance abuse, Mental Health, Depression, Anxiety Blurb from Goodreads 'I got this whole-body feeling . . . it was like a message from future me to present me, telling me that in some way we weren’t just bound to happen, that we had, … Continue reading We Are Inevitable by Gayle Forman – Book Review

Not My Problem by Ciara Smyth – Book Review

Title: Not My Problem (eARC) Author: Ciara Smyth Genre: Contemporary YA, Coming of Age, Romantic Comedy-Drama Blurb from Goodreads Aideen can fix anyone's problem - just not her own When Aideen agrees to help ambitious class swot Maebh Kowalska deal with her crazy workload, she doesn’t expect to end up reluctantly pushing Maebh down the … Continue reading Not My Problem by Ciara Smyth – Book Review

Hani and Ishu’s Guide to Fake Dating by Adiba Jaigirdar – Book Review

Title: Hani and Ishu’s Guide to Fake Dating (eARC) Author: Adiba Jaigirdar Genre: YA Contemporary, Romantic Drama Blurb from Goodreads Everyone likes Humaira "Hani" Khan—she’s easy going and one of the most popular girls at school. But when she comes out to her friends as bisexual, they invalidate her identity, saying she can’t be bi … Continue reading Hani and Ishu’s Guide to Fake Dating by Adiba Jaigirdar – Book Review

Being Amani by Annabelle Steele – Book Review

Title: Being Amani (eARC) Author: Annabelle Steele Blurb from Goodreads It's been over a year since that night and Amani hopes that starting all over again will help her move on from the past. So, when she moves to a new city, Amani wants to focus on her new life, her best friends and the … Continue reading Being Amani by Annabelle Steele – Book Review

Lycanthropy and Other Chronic Illnesses by Kristen O’Neal – Book Review

Title: Lycanthropy and Other Chronic Illnesses Author: Kristen O’Neal Blurb from Goodreads Priya worked hard to pursue her premed dreams at Stanford, but a diagnosis of chronic Lyme disease during her sophomore year sends her back to her loving but overbearing family in New Jersey—and leaves her wondering if she’ll ever be able to return … Continue reading Lycanthropy and Other Chronic Illnesses by Kristen O’Neal – Book Review

The Reckless Afterlife of Harriet Stoker by Lauren James – Book Review

Title: The Reckless Afterlife of Harriet Stoker (review copy) Author: Lauren James Genre/Themes: Young Adult, Fantasy, Ghost Story Blurb from Goodreads What if death is only the beginning?When Harriet Stoker dies after falling from a balcony in a long-abandoned building, she discovers a group of ghosts, each with a special power.Felix, Kasper, Rima and Leah … Continue reading The Reckless Afterlife of Harriet Stoker by Lauren James – Book Review

It Sounded Better In My Head by Nina Kenwood – Book Review

Title: It Sounded Better in my Head (review copy) Author: Nina Kenwood Genre: Young Adult Contemporary Blurb from Goodreads A tender, funny, and joyful novel about longing, confusion, feeling left out, and finding out what really matters, and first love, perfect for fans of Emergency ContactEighteen year-old Natalie has suffered every adolescent indignity when her … Continue reading It Sounded Better In My Head by Nina Kenwood – Book Review